Hillary is in….

hrc2008

Kind of strange to enter the race on a Saturday, especially since she’s not supposed to be on any of the Sunday shows tomorrow, but maybe there’s a reason for it.
Her entrance video is here.

Interesting that the video is different from her statement on her website.

I’m in. And I’m in to win.

Today I am announcing that I will form an exploratory committee to run for president.

And I want you to join me not just for the campaign but for a conversation about the future of our country — about the bold but practical changes we need to overcome six years of Bush administration failures.

I am going to take this conversation directly to the people of America, and I’m starting by inviting all of you to join me in a series of web chats over the next few days.

The stakes will be high when America chooses a new president in 2008.

As a senator, I will spend two years doing everything in my power to limit the damage George W. Bush can do. But only a new president will be able to undo Bush’s mistakes and restore our hope and optimism.

She’s talking about having town hall meetings where she can “have a conversation” with all of us.

No matter where you live, no matter what your political views, I want you to be a part of this important conversation right at the start. So to begin, I’m going to spend the next several days answering your questions in a series of live video web discussions. Starting Monday, January 22, at 7 p.m. EST for three nights in a row, I’ll sit down to answer your questions about how we can work together for a better future. And you can participate live at my website. Sign up to join the conversation here.

Maybe polls like this one from Zogby are starting to scare her.

So that puts those who have formed committees at Dodd, Vilsack, Biden, Kucinich, Obama, Edwards, Clinton, Gravel, and Richardson about to announce soon on the dem side, and only Brownback Romney, and Tancredo on the Repub side….

this is going to get very crowded very quickly….Rudy, McCain, Huckabee, Kerry, Sharpton, Gore (?), Gingrich, all likely to join……

4 Responses to Hillary is in….

  1. askewed says:

    Now on to the part where Obama and HRC make each other seem like the wrong choice for so long that we believe them and the Republican candidate wins amongst the confusion.

  2. johncos says:

    Is anyone else suprised by the timing of this? A Saturday morning close to the State of the Union and the Super Bowl? I can’t decide if this was because Obama’s annoucement had absoutely monopolized media (and fundraising) attention and Hillary needed to get her name back in the public sphere or if for some other reason caused it. Nevertheless, this timing strikes me as odd.

  3. anoodle says:

    Her advisors say that she planned all along to do it right before the State of the Union– I guess she figures it’s a good way to contrast herself with Bush. I don’t think Obama’s announcement had a ton to do with it– apparently, she’s doing just fine on the fundraising (she already has 15 million in the bank before she’s raised a dime for ’08).

    It does seem strange to pick a Saturday– although maybe she thought she’d get the headlines on Sunday news programs and then also get them on Monday morning. My guess is that she’ll be interviewed on Wed after the SOTU also even though Webb will give the dem response.

    I think she will try to run a campaign for the general election right off that bat, and basically ignore her primary opponents as long as possible. We’ll see if that’s a mistake…

  4. anoodle says:

    Her advisors say that she planned all along to do it right before the State of the Union– I guess she figures it’s a good way to contrast herself with Bush. I don’t think Obama’s announcement had a ton to do with it– apparently, she’s doing just fine on the fundraising (she already has 15 million in the bank before she’s raised a dime for ’08).

    It does seem strange to pick a Saturday– although maybe she thought she’d get the headlines on Sunday news programs and then also get them on Monday morning. My guess is that she’ll be interviewed on Wed after the SOTU also even though Webb will give the dem response.

    I think she will try to run a campaign for the general election right off that bat, and basically ignore her primary opponents as long as possible. We’ll see if that’s a mistake……..

Leave a Reply

